K-State Research and Extension News
January 03, 2013
Share  Email the story

K-State’s Ag Profitability Conferences to Cover Range of Topics


Flex Leases, Crop and Beef Outlook and Human Resources on Agenda

MANHATTAN, Kan. – A range of topics, from beef cattle profitability to crop insurance to employee management and more will be covered during Kansas State University’s Ag Profitability Conferences planned for several locations around the state in January and February.

Presentations vary by location, and include such topics as: Beef and Cattle Economic Market Outlook; Crop Profitability Outlook for 2013; Human Resources: Managing Employees; Update on 2012 Farm Bill; Crop Insurance and the 2012 Drought; 2012-13 Farmland Cash Rental Rates in Kansas, Nebraska and Colorado, and many others.

Dates, locations and contact information for each site include:

  • Jan. 8 – Goodland - Elks Lodge, 1523 Arcade St. – Dana Belshe – dbelshe@ksu.edu or 785-890-4880;
  • Jan. 31 – Home City - Blue Valley Telecommunications, 1559 Pony Express Highway – Michael Vogt – mvogt@ksu.edu or 785-562-3531;
  • Feb. 5 – McPherson - Best Western Holiday Manor (I-135 and Kansas St.) – Jonie James – jjames@ksu.edu or 620-241-1523;
  • Feb. 7 – Pratt – Pratt Co. Fairgrounds, 4-H Center, 81 Lake Rd. – Mark Ploger – mploger@ksu.edu or 620-672-6121;
  • Feb. 12 – Salina – 4-H Building, Kenwood Park – Tom Maxwell – tmaxwell@ksu.edu or 785-309-5850;
  • Feb. 12 (streamed from Salina) – El Dorado – Butler County Community Building, 206 N. Griffith – David Kehler – dkehler@ksu.edu or 316-321-9660; and 
  • Feb. 12 (streamed from Salina) – Iola – Allen County Courthouse, 1 N. Washington St. – Delta George – delta@ksu.edu or 620-223-3720.

For specific information on the agenda at each location or to register, go to Ag Profitability Conferences or contact the extension agent listed for your preferred location.

-30-


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Mary Lou Peter
mlpeter@ksu.edu
K-State Research & Extension News